Wednesday, March 7, 2012

Students present Crystal Apples to outstanding professors

The Crystal Apple Awards winners are: Front row, left to right, Allison Burdette, Jennifer Mathews, and Christine Ristaino. Back row: Clifford Gunthel, Edward Queen II, Amy Webb Girard, Karla Passalacqua, and Kate Woeber. Emory Photo/Video.

At the 13th annual Crystal Apple Awards ceremony on Feb. 27, the Residence Hall Association honored eight Emory professors for outstanding achievements in teaching. Unlike other teaching awards at Emory, each faculty member was nominated by his or her students. Chosen by a panel of students, the following professors have demonstrated extraordinary leadership and service in both the classroom and the greater Emory community.

The Laura Jones Hardman Award for Excellence in Service to the Emory Community: Edward Queen II, director of the D. Abbott Turner Program in Ethics and Servant Leadership and coordinator of undergraduate studies at the Center for Ethics.

Read the entire article here.

"I cannot imagine my Emory experience without Dr. Queen as a central figure in it," wrote one student. "[…] I have seen Dr. Queen quietly tear up at the sight of his students' passion and devotion to service. Not only is he a great professor that challenges his students both inside and outside the classroom, but he is also a compassionate and kind listener who patiently and constantly mentors us."

No comments:

Post a Comment